July 14, 2024
Oregon Supreme Court Bans 10 GOP State Sens. Who Staged Walkout

Oregon Supreme Court Bans 10 GOP State Sens. Who Staged Walkout

(Headline USA) The Oregon Supreme Court said Thursday that 10 Republican state senators cannot run for reelection after staging a six-week walkout last year to stall bills on abortion, transgender surgeries for minors and gun-control.

It is but the latest example of leftist weaponizing institutional power, such as the judiciary, to sway the outcome of elections in their favor. The Colorado Supreme Court and Maine secretary of state provided egregious examples recently by attempting to rule former President Donald Trump ineligible for the ballot under the 14th Amendment’s “insurrection clause.”

However, like many examples of left-wing hypocrisy, it may offer a road map for red states who face similar issues with defiant lawmakers on the other side of the aisle. Notably, a cohort of more than 60 Texas Democrats was widely celebrated by the mainstream media for staging a 2021 walkout.

The far-left Oregon court’s decision upholds the secretary of state’s decision to disqualify the senators from the ballot under a voter-approved measure aimed at stopping such boycotts.

Measure 113, passed by voters in 2022, amended the state constitution to bar lawmakers from reelection if they had more than 10 unexcused absences.

Five lawmakers sued over the secretary of state’s decision—Sens. Tim Knopp, Daniel Bonham, Suzanne Weber, Dennis Linthicum and Lynn Findley. They were among the 10 GOP senators who racked up more than 10 absences.

“We obviously disagree with the Supreme Court’s ruling,” said Knopp, the chamber’s minority leader. “But more importantly, we are deeply disturbed by the chilling impact this decision will have to crush dissent.”

During oral arguments before the Oregon Supreme Court in December, attorneys for the senators and the state wrestled over the grammar and syntax of the language that was added to the state constitution after Measure 113 was approved by voters.

The amendment says a lawmaker is not allowed to run “for the term following the election after the member’s current term is completed.”

The debate was over when that ineligibility kicks in: If a senator’s term ends in January 2025, they would typically seek reelection in November 2024. The “election after the member’s current term is completed” would not be until November 2028, the Republican senators argued, so they could run for reelection this year and then hold office for another term before becoming ineligible.

The court disagreed, saying that while the language of the amendment was ambiguous, the information provided to voters in the ballot title and explanatory statement made clear that the intent was to bar truant lawmakers from holding office in the next term.

“Those other materials expressly and uniformly informed voters that the amendment would apply to a legislator’s immediate next terms of office, indicating that the voters so understood and intended that meaning,” the justices wrote.

The senators’ lawsuit was filed against Secretary of State LaVonne Griffin–Valade, who last August said the boycotting senators were disqualified from seeking reelection. She directed her office’s elections division to implement an administrative rule based on her stance.

All parties in the suit had sought clarity on the issue before the March 2024 filing deadline for candidates who want to run in this year’s election.

The 2023 walkout paralyzed the Legislature for weeks and only ended after Republicans forced concessions from Democrats on two controversial bills.

Oregon voters approved Measure 113 by a wide margin following Republican walkouts in the Legislature in 2019, 2020 and 2021.

Adapted from reporting by the Associated Press


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *